New Music inspired by Dr. King’s Rocky Mount speech set to debut at NC State on April 8

In commemoration of the 50th anniversary of Martin Luther King’s death, the Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra of NC State University will perform a program of music by African American composers. The concert will feature the World Premiere of Sinfonietta of Dreams, a newly commissioned composition by composer Jeff Scott. The music will be based on the “Dream” speech MLK gave in Rocky Mount prior to his well-known Washington speech, and will feature gospel choir, orchestra and actual recordings from the speech. NCSU faculty member Dr. Jason Miller will speak about the story behind Dr. King’s NC speech and its legacy. A post-concert discussion will complement the music.

The concert will be part of a series of collaborative events focused on Dr. King’s legacy on the NCSU campus and beyond. Presented in collaboration with the NC State African American Cultural Center and NC State Live.

William Grant Still: Mother and Child
Lindi Wang, violin soloist
Florence Price: Andante from Ethiopia’s Shadow In America
Le Chevalier de Saint-Georges: Symphony Op. 11, #2
Jeff Scott: Sinfonietta of Dreams (World Premiere)

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.